TCI Women’s National Football Team Takes On The New CFU Women’s Challenge Series

Twenty Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Member Associations will set out to compete in the inaugural CFU Women’s Challenge Series. The competition, scheduled for April 16-29, 2018, will be played across five Caribbean venues, each one a Group host. This is a CFU initiative with the goal of providing meaningful competition for its Members to assist in their preparation for the upcoming Concacaf Qualifiers which will commence in May 2018.

The Turks & Caicos Islands was drawn in a very tough Group B with their opponents consisting of 3 of the Top 5 ranked teams in the CFU. They will play the Women’s National Teams of Jamaica, Barbados, and Cuba. Group B games will be played at the newly named  Captain Horace Burrell Center of Excellence located on the Campus of the University of the West Indies in Mona, Jamaica.

CFU Interim President, Randolph Harris, expressed that “The CFU Women’s Challenge Series addresses a dearth of competitive play for women footballers in the Caribbean and is a welcomed addition to the calendar. This is both exciting and productive for our Member Associations. The respective women’s national teams have been itching to get off the mark for some time, so we are confident that the competition will redound to the benefit of the teams and football fans across the region.”


Group A: St. Kitts and Nevis (hosts), St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia and Dominica
Group B: Jamaica (hosts), Barbados, Cuba and Turks and Caicos Islands
Group C: Haiti (hosts), Martinique, Dominican Republic and USVI
Group D: Antigua and Barbuda (hosts), Curacao, Guadeloupe and Montserrat
Group E: Trinidad & Tobago (hosts), Grenada, Guyana and Suriname